Cheat – Making Mayo

The lesson that its hardest for students to cheat is when I teach how to make mayonnaise. In this lesson I teach students what an emulsion is. I have the students mix the recipe by hand. Students need to add oil drop by drop. If students try to cheat and go to fast the recipe doesn’t work. Everyone in the class makes the mayo with vegetable oil, water, and egg. Then we try a few new things and I assign different students to different types of cooking oil. Students predict how each mayo will taste different with each oil. I had the students taste test the mayo with bologna sandwiches. However, the next time I do the lab I will probably upgrade to crackers, cheese, and summer sausage.

Olive oil makes the worst one.

 

Cheat

Leave a Reply

